Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Allen County, Kentucky

The Allen County Courthouse is located at 200 W Main St, Scottsville, KY 42164.


Allen County, Kentucky [†], is located in the south central portion of the state along the Kentucky-Tennessee border. On that border, Allen County meets the Tennessee counties of Sumner and Macon. Within the Commonwealth, it is bounded by to the northwest and northeast by Warren and Barren counties (respectively), Monroe County to the east, and Simpson County to the west. The county's northern/eastern boundary is drawn by the Barren River and Barren River Lake. The topography of this land area is comprised of limestone deposits, springs, and sinkholes, with soil that maintains a texture like clay. Overall, the county remains a relatively rural area, historically harboring agriculture, though some industry does exist. The centrally located city of Scottsville serves as the county seat. Some communities/towns within the county include Adolphus, Allen Springs, Halfway, Holland, Petroleum, Pope, Trammel, Meador, and others.

† Western Kentucky University, TopSCHOLAR®, Historical Overview of Allen County, Kentucky, 2017, digitalcommons.wku.edu, accessed August, 2020.

Home   Whats New   Site Index
LivingPlaces.com © 1997‑2023
Search   Contact   Privacy   Disclaimer