Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Bourbon County, Kentucky


Bourbon County administrative offices are located at 301 Main Street, Paris, KY 40361; phone: 859-987-2135.

Beginnings [1]

One of the earliest areas settled in what is now Kentucky, Bourbon County was originally part of Virginia. The Virginia legislature took land from Fayette County to establish this new county—named for the House of Bourbon, in honor of Virginia's fight for independence during 1788 and 1789. Portions of Bourbon County created Clark, Madison, Harrison and Nicholas counties.

Farm life has been prominent in the rich history of Bourbon County from generations of both landowners and farm employees. The rich and outstanding history gives us a sense of pride and belonging and continuity.

Bourbon County consists of a total 292 square miles and is nestled in the heart of Kentucky's famous Bluegrass region. Bourbon County is one of the leading producers of Thoroughbred horses in the world. More than 50 horse farms are located in the county.

  1. Bourbon County Kentucky Council Members, Update of the County Comprehensive Plan, 2015, agpolicy.ky.gov, accessed March, 2016.

Home   Whats New   Site Index
LivingPlaces.com © 1997‑2023
Search   Contact   Privacy   Disclaimer