Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Boyle County, Kentucky


Boyle County administrative offices are located at 321 West Main Street, Danville, KY 40422; phone: 859-238-1100.

Boyle County [1] was formed from portions of Lincoln and Mercer Counties in 1842. Boyle County was named for Judge John Boyle (1774-1834), the Chief Justice of the Kentucky Court of Appeals. The county is bordered by Mercer, Washington, Marion, Casey, Lincoln, and Garrard Counties. Covering 182 square miles, the majority of its territory is classified as part of the Bluegrass Region except for the area southwest of Danville which is in the Knobs. Major waterways include the Dix River, Salt River, and the Chaplin River.

  1. Helen Powell, H. Powell & Company, Inc., Multiple Resource Area of Danville, Kentucky, nomination document, 1986, National Park Service, National Register of Historic Places, Washington, D.C., accessed January, 2016.

Home   Whats New   Site Index
LivingPlaces.com © 1997‑2023
Search   Contact   Privacy   Disclaimer