Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Floyd County, Kentucky


Floyd County administrative offices are located at 149 South Central Avenue, Prestonsburg, KY 41653; phone: 606-886-8089.

On June 1, 1800 Floyd County [1] became the fortieth county to enter the Commonwealth of Kentucky. It was named for John Floyd who was a famous pioneer explorer. The county seat was named "Preston's Station," which would evolve into what is known today as Prestonsburg, the current county seat. Floyd County is located in the coal fields of Eastern Kentucky. Its location is part of the Cumberland Plateau of the Appalachian Mountains, and offers a splendid portrait of the Kentucky Hills which range from 641 feet to over 2,000 feet above sea level. Floyd County enjoys a seasonal climate. The average annual temperature is 56.60 degrees, with a record high of 102 and a record low of -21 degrees.

  1. Floyd County Kentucky Council Members, Update of County Comprehensive Plan, 2015, agpolicy.ky.gov, accessed October, 2015.