Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Androscoggin County, Maine


The Androscoggin County Courthouse is located at 2 Turner Street, Auburn, ME 04210; phone: 207-784-8390.

Beginnings [1]

When Androscoggin County was organized, March 18, 1854, it acquired its territory from Cumberland, Kennebec, Oxford and Lincoln counties. The county was named after its principal river. Androscoggin comes from the Algonquin Indian name Am-a-ra-skah-gin. In the last decade of the 17th century, settlements were commenced on both sides of the Androscoggin River at Pejepscot Lower Falls, but fears of impending Indian warfare prevented their rapid growth.

In 1784 there were 30 families living in Turner. The settlement of Green had begun before the Revolution and numbered nearly 500 inhabitants by the time of its incorporation in 1788. Lewiston had more than 500 residents by 1790. Thompsonborough (Lisbon Town) became a town in 1799. Littleborough (Leeds Town) was a thriving community.

  1. Georgia Drew Merrill, ed., History of Androscoggin County, Maine, W. A. Ferguson & Co., Boston, 1891.

Home   Whats New   Site Index
LivingPlaces.com © 1997‑2023
Search   Contact   Privacy   Disclaimer