Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Paris Town

Oxford County, Maine

Paris Town Hall is located at 33 Market Square, South Paris, Maine 04281.
Phone: 207‑743‑2501.

Beginnings [1]

The Town of Paris was first settled in December, 1779 by Lemuel Jackson Jr. and his son-in law, Deacon John Willis. By 1792, the town had grown in population to between 300 and 400 individuals. A request for incorporation was granted by the Great and General Court of Massachusetts in 1793 and the Town of Paris was formed. The first settlers engaged in agriculture, and soon developed businesses based upon the regions abundant forest resources and water power from the Little Androscoggin River and Stony Brook.

The earliest village was situated on top of Paris Hill (originally called Jackson's Hill) and is a Historic District listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Although such designation carries with it a degree of prestige, it does not offer the village any level of protection from incompatible development unless undertaken with State or Federal funds. The village has been home to four Maine Governors, three Speakers of the Maine House, three Presidents of the Maine Senate, twelve United States Representatives, and two United States Senators. In addition, the village was home to Hannibal Hamlin, who served as Vice President during the first term of Abraham Lincoln. The architecture of the village is a unique, monumental, and timeless example of an early New England Village.

  1. Paris Comprehensive Plan Section I", 2007, www.parismaine.org, accessed May, 2013.