Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

La Grange City

Fayette County, Texas

La Grange City Hall is located at 155 East Colorado Street, La Grange, TX 78945.
Phone: 979‑968‑5805.


La Grange is the county seat of Fayette County and is located on State Highway 71 and U.S. Highway 77 on an old Indian encampment. La Grange is rich in scenic beauty and lies below the Bluff on the Colorado River. La Grange lies partially in the J. Eblin League that was selected as the location for the Capitol of Texas until Sam Houston, who wanted the capitol to bear his name, vetoed it. La Grange was first settled in the 1820's on land granted to John H. Moore. The town is named after General La Fayette's country home in France near the Swiss border. La Grange is the largest town in Fayette County and provides the county citizens with governmental, commercial, medical, civic, and cultural facilities. The town is laid out around a public square on, which is located, the Fayette County Courthouse, which was built in 1891. La Grange was also the site of the organization of the S.P.J.S.T. society in Texas. The town has a vibrant and diversified economy. It offers an excellent school system, a public library, and a museum. The town was small in 1836 with only two stores, but it was large enough to be incorporated in 1850. La Grange is typical of small town county seats in southeastern central Texas. [1]

  1. Fayette County Texas, Cities and Communities, www.co.fayette.tx.us, accessed October, 2011.