Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Crawford County, Arkansas

The Crawford County Courthouse is located at 300 Main Street, Van Buren, AR 72956; phone: 479‑474‑1312.

Crawford County Neighborhoods


Photo: Drennen-Scott House, circa 1836, located off North Third Street in Van Buren, Listed on the National Register of Historic Places om 1971. Photographer, Lester Jones, [public domain], Historic American Buildings Survey, HABS AR-21, memory.loc.gov, accessed August, 2022.


Crawford County [†] was created by an act of the Territorial Legislature on October 24,1820, only two years after David Boyd, the first white settler, arrived in Van Buren. The new county, which was named for William H, Crawford, Secretary of the Treasury under James Monroe, encompassed most of the land now occupied by Yell, Logan, Johnson, Franklin, ScotS and Sebastian counties. The first county seat was temporarily located at the house of John Jay on the south side of the Arkansas River near the site of Crawford Old Court House. The county seat was eventually moved several times, ending up in Van Buren in 1838.

† Ralph S. Wilcox, National Register & Survey Coordinator, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, Bryant-Lasarer House, nomination document, National Register of Historic Places, Washington, D.C.


Home   Whats New   Site Index
LivingPlaces.com © 1997‑2023
Search   Contact   Privacy   Disclaimer