Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Clark County, Illinois

The Clark County Courthouse is located at 501 Archer Avenue, Marshall, IL 62441; phone: 217-26-2811.

Formed in 1819 from part of Crawford County, Clark County is named for George Rogers Clark [1752-1818]. Clark rose to the rank of Lieutenant Colonel during the Revolutionary War. He is most regarded for leading troops to victory at Vincennes during the Illinois Campaign.

Darwin served as county seat from 1823 to 1839 at which time a county-wide vote resulted in the seat being moved to Marshall.


Home   Whats New   Site Index
LivingPlaces.com © 1997‑2023
Search   Contact   Privacy   Disclaimer