Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Tazewell County, Illinois


Tazewell County Neighborhoods

Tazewell County administrative offices are located at 11 South 4th Street, Pekin, IL 61554; phone: 309-477-2272.

Beginnings [1]

Tazewell County was created in 1827 but its boundaries were not legally firm until 1829. It was originally created from territory in Sangamon and Fayette counties. McLean County was taken off in 1830. Parts were taken off in 1839 to form Logan County, and again, in 1841, to form Mason and Woodford counties.

The county is named for the Honorable John Tazewell, U. S. Senator from the State of Virginia.

It is claimed that the first settler in the county was Nathon Dillon who built a log cabin on Dillon Creek in 1823.

Among the friendly Indians residing here, during the Black Hawk War, in 1832, was the noted Pottatatomie, Chief Shabbona, and his family. He was a true friend of the "pale face" because of which and the fact that he refused to join with the Black Hawks.

  1. William H. Bates, editor and compiler, Historical Souvenir to commemorate the Dedication of the New Tazewell County Courthouse at the county seat, Pekin, Illinois, Wednesday, June 21st, 1916, Bates Press, 1916, Pekin.

Home   Whats New   Site Index
LivingPlaces.com © 1997‑2023
Search   Contact   Privacy   Disclaimer