Floyd County, Indiana

HomeWhats NewSite IndexContactSearch


Floyd County Neighborhoods

Floyd County Courthouse is located at 311 West First Street (Hauss Square), New Albany IN 47150; phone: 812-948-5466.

Beginnings [1]

When the first settles came into what is now Floyd County in 1804, the land was then part of Clark County, one of but 3 counties formed in the territory at that time. The first emigrants came from Kentucky and made their homes on Knob Creek near the present site of Georgetown. The first to settle were Patrick Shields and his wife. They came in the Spring of 1804 and "squatted" upon a section of land near the western border of Georgetown. The next family to come, also from Kentucky, was that of Robert La Follette. They settled on government land along Knob Creek in Franklin Township.

The County of Floyd was organized in 1819 and was divided at the time into 5 townships: New Albany, Lafayette, Greenville, Georgetown and Franklin. It was named for Davis Floyd, a member of the Territorial Legislature in 1805 and afterward a judge in Indiana and in Florida.

  1. John M. Gresham & Company, Biographical and Historic Souvenir for the Counties of Clark, Crawford, Harrison, Floyd, Jefferson, Jennings, Scott and Washington, Indiana, Chicago Printing Company, Chicago, 1889.

HomeWhats NewSite IndexContact
PrivacyDisclaimer • © 1997-2024, The Gombach Group