Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Piscataquis County, Maine


Piscataquis County administrative offices are located at 159 East Main Street, Dover-Foxcroft, ME 04426; phone: 207-564-6500.

Beginnings [1]

When first entered by settlers, this territory was included in Hancock and Kennebec Counties, but when (in 1809) Somerset County was incorporated, the western portion, amounting to three tiers of townships, was embraced in this new county. In 1816, Penobscot County was incorporated, and all but the three western tiers of townships above mentioned were included in that county. In 1838 Piscataquis County was incorporated, taking four tiers of townships from Penobscot, and three from Somerset County. It then extended in full width to Canada, but in 1844 its northern portion, embracing about 60 townships, was annexed to Aroostook County.

The most important river is the Piscataquis, which gives its name to the county, and upon which the first settlements were made. The pioneer settler of Piscataquis County was Eli Towne, who moved his family from Temple, New Hampshire into Dover in 1803. Sebec was the first town incorporated in the county, the act having been passed February 28, 1812. The next was Foxcroft, which was incorporated on February 29, 1812. Dover, though the first to be settled, was not incorporated until 1822.

  1. George J. Varney, A Gazetteer of the State of Maine, B. B. Russell, publisher, Boston, 1882.

Home   Whats New   Site Index
LivingPlaces.com © 1997‑2023
Search   Contact   Privacy   Disclaimer