Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Dover-Foxcroft Town

Piscataquis County, Maine

The Dover‑Foxcroft Town Hall is located at 48 Morton Avenue, Dover‑Foxcroft, ME, 04426.
Phone: 207‑564‑3318.



The twin towns of Dover and Foxcroft (each incorporated in 1821), lying on opposite sides of the Piscataquis River, merged in 1922 to create the only "hyphenated" township within the state.

Dover was first settled around 1799. Foxcroft, named for Joseph E. Foxcroft, purchased land from the trustees of Bowdoin College in 1801 and surveyed lots to accommodate settlers trickling into the area, attracted by the college.