Union City

Franklin County, Missouri

Home | Whats New | Site Index | Contact | Search

Union City Hall is located at 500 East Locust Street, Union, MO 63084.
Phone: 636‑583‑3600.


Beginnings [1]

Union, the county seat of Franklin County, has been the county seat since 1827. In 1818 David Edwards, Philip Boulware, Sr., William Laughlin, David B. Moore and William Harrison were appointed commissioners to locate the permanent seat of justice, a courthouse, and a jail. The Town of Newport was selected and here court was held until 1826 when it was removed. Union was selected as the county seat in and laid out in 1826 by Bracket Barnes and Moses Whitmire, on land of Reuben Harrison and Nathan Richardson. It became the county seat, officially, in 1827.

  1. David W. Eaton, How Missouri Counties, Towns and Streams Were Named, The State Historical Society of Missouri, reprinted from The Missouri Historical Review, Vol 10, No. 3, April, 1916, Columbia, MO, 1916.

Home | Whats New | Site Index | Contact
Privacy | Disclaimer

Copyright © 1997-2024, The Gombach Group