Perquimans County, North Carolina

HomeWhats NewSite IndexContactSearch


Perquimans County administrative offices are located at 128 North Church Street, Hertford, NC 27944; phone: 252-426-8484.

Perquimans County, located in northeastern North Carolina, is bounded to the north by Gates County, to the east by Pasquotank County, to the south by the Albemarle Sound, and to the west by Chowan County. Hertford is Perquimans County's largest town and is the County seat. Winfall is the County's other incorporated town.

Perquimans County has a land area of 247 square miles. The County's average temperature in January is 41 degrees F and the average July temperature is 79 degrees F. The average rainfall is 48 inches. The elevation of Perquimans County is about 20 feet above sea level.

Perquimans County boasts a diverse and impressive natural environment. On the east side of Perquimans County is the Little River, while the Perquimans River flows through the center of the County and the Yeopim River and Albemarle Sound make up the southern most boundaries of the County. Early Native American inhabitants of the area included Algonquin speaking tribes, and tribes related to the Powhatan Confederation in Virginia and the tribes encountered by the Roanoke Island colonists. Today, along the County's swamps, pocosins, and creeks, the rich farm land is capable of producing a variety of crops. [1]

  1. Perquimans County North Carolina, CAMA Core Land Use Plan Update: 2005-2006, Preliminary Draft, Community Planning Collaborative, Inc.,, accessed February, 2012.

HomeWhats NewSite IndexContact
PrivacyDisclaimer • © 1997-2024, The Gombach Group