Grafton County, New Hampshire

Home | Whats New | Site Index | Contact | Search

Grafton County administrative offices are located at 3855 Dartmouth College Highway, North Haverhill, NH 03774; phone: 603-787-6941.


Grafton, with 1,747 square miles of area, is second largest in the State after Coos County. Grafton County is home to the famous Ivy League College, Dartmouth, founded in 1769, one of 9 American colleges that were established before the American Revolution.

Beginnings [1]

Grafton County extends for nearly 60 miles along the Connecticut River, with Coos County to the north, and Sullivan County to the south.

In 1692 the British established the Province of New Hampshire, and divided it into 5 counties, of which Grafton was known as "The Fifth," established by the Colonial legislature in March of 1771.

The first white settler to the region now included within the limits of Grafton County, so far as known, was in 1709, Thomas Baker, for whom the name of the Baker River is derived.

  1. Hamilton Child, Gazetteer of Grafton County, N.H., 1709-1886, The Syracuse Journal Company, Printers and Binders, Syracuse, NY, 1886.


Home | Whats New | Site Index | Contact
Privacy | Disclaimer

Copyright © 1997-2024, The Gombach Group