Essex County, New York

HomeWhats NewSite IndexContactSearch

Essex County Administrative Offices are located at 7551 Court Street, Elizabethtown NY 12932; phone: 518‑873‑3600.

Essex County Neighborhoods


The county was organized in 1799 being split-off from Clinton County. Today, the county is divided among 20 municipalities. At its inception, there were but four: Elizabethtown, Willsborough, Crown Point, and Jay.

Willsborough was the first planned settlement, established on lands bought by William Gilliland in 1765.

At more than 1,800 square miles, Essex is the second largest county in the state. Much of the county is located within the Adirondack Park. With an average elevation of 3,000 feet, it is the highest in the state. It is home to Mount Marcy, at over one mile high, the tallest in the Adirondacks.

HomeWhats NewSite IndexContact
PrivacyDisclaimer • © 1997-2024, The Gombach Group