Fallsburg Town

Sullivan County, New York

Home | Whats New | Site Index | Contact | Search

Fallsburg Town Hall is located at 19 Railroad Plaza, South Fallsburg, NY 12779.
Phone: 845‑434‑8810.


Beginnings [1]

The names of the original settlers of Fallsburg are unknown. It is believed they were Dutch, and that they located near Denniston's Ford, and on the ridge that divides the Sheldrake stream from Dutch Pond and Pleasant Lake. By 1790 the valley had the appearance of a region long occupied by whites, and those who immigrated to and through it were told that Dutch settlers had lived there many years previously.

About 1788 a considerable number of families began moving to the valley above the Falls of the Neversink. Among them were Peter Misner, Aaron Van Benschoten, Peter Freer, Matthew Sheeley, Jacob Marquant, Seth Gillett, Cornelius Sarr, James Bush, John Coney, Eleazer Larrabee, Josiah Dupuy, John Tappan, John Gorton, James Hill, Thomas Rawson, Cornelius Turner, the DeWitts, Bakers, Bordons, Grants, Klines, Van Leuvens and others.

The town was incorporated in 1826. Its first elected officials were: Herman M. Hardenbergh, supervisor; Richard A. Reading, clerk; John Crawford, James Brown and Cornelius D. Eller, Assessors; Harley R; Ludington, Henry Misner and John Eller, commissioners of highways; Elnathan S. Starr, Thomas Lawrence and John Hill, commissioners of common schools; Henry Mead and Josiak Deput, overseers of the poor; Warren Barlow, collector; Warren Barlow, Philip C. Ludington, Daniel Couch and Alexander C. Sloat, constables; and Thomas R. Hardenbergh, William Hill and Julius I. Starr, inspectors of commons schools.

  1. James Eldrige Quinlan, History of Sullivan County, G. M. Beebe and W. T. Morgan, publishers, Liberty NY, 1873

Nearby Towns: Monticello Vlg •

Home | Whats New | Site Index | Contact
Privacy | Disclaimer

Copyright © 1997-2024, The Gombach Group