Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Hertford County, North Carolina


Hertford County administrative offices are located at 704 North King Street, Winton, NC 27896; phone: 252-358-7805.

Land deeds date the early settlement of the Hertford area to 1710. Originally known as the Parish of Saint Barnabas, the county was established in 1759 and named for Francis S. Conway, the Marquis of Hertford, a British nobleman and parliamentarian.