Chautauqua Town

Chautauqua County, New York

Home | Whats New | Site Index | Contact | Search

Chautauqua Town Hall is located at 2 Academy Street, Mayville NY 14757.
Phone: 716‑753‑7242.


Beginnings [1]

Chautauqua was formed from Batavia (in Genesee County) April 11. 1804. It was the original town and initially covered the entire county. The first settlement was made at Mayville in 1804 by Dr. Alexander McIntyre. The first church (Baptist) was also formed at Mayville, in 1820.

  1. French, J.H., Gazetteer of the State of New York: Embracing a Comprehensive View of the geography, Geology, and General History of the State ..., Ira J. Friedman Inc., Port Washington, NY 1860

Home | Whats New | Site Index | Contact
Privacy | Disclaimer

Copyright © 1997-2024, The Gombach Group