Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Rutland County, Vermont


The Rutland County Courthouse is located at 83 Center Street, Rutland, VT 05701; phone: 802-775-4394.

The State of Vermont was originally divided into 2 counties, the Green Mountains being the dividing line. The portion on the west was Bennington County and that on the east, Cumberland County. Cumberland County lasted only until 1781 at which time it was divided into 4 separate counties (3 in Vermont, 1 which ultimately became a part of New Hampshire).

In 1781 Bennington County was also reduced in size when Rutland was created from its northern portion.

Home   Whats New   Site Index
LivingPlaces.com © 1997‑2023
Search   Contact   Privacy   Disclaimer