Home | Whats New | Site Index | Search

Dodge County, Wisconsin


Dodge County administrative offices are located at 127 East Oak Street, Juneau, WI 53039; phone: 920-386-3600.

Dodge County [1] was created in 1836 and named in honor of Henry Dodge, then territorial governor of Wisconsin. The Town of Victory was chosen as the County Seat. The Town of Victory was later renamed City of Juneau after Paul Juneau, the son of Solomon Juneau, founder of Milwaukee. In 1845 iron ore was discovered in Mayville and an iron ore works operated here for several decades until competition from mines in the Lake Superior region closed it. Sawmills and gristmills were widely distributed over Dodge County in the 1870s. In 1875, the first brick cheese factory in the United States opened in Watertown, operating until 1943. Dodge County has a rich heritage that includes a unique blend of natural resources, small town charm, and agricultural history.

  1. Dodge County Wisconsin, Year 2030 Comprehensive Plan, 2011, www.co.dodge.us, accessed October, 2015.