Wyoming Borough

Luzerne County, Pennsylvania

Home | Whats New | Site Index | Contact | Search

Wyoming Borough Hall is located at 277 Wyoming Avenue, Wyoming PA 18644.
Phone: 570‑693‑0291.

Beginnings [1]

Half a century before Wyoming borough was incorporated the town was known both as Wyoming and New Troy.

On July 14, 1807, the State of Pennsylvania granted a patent for 435 acres of land to Jacob Bedford, and named the location as New Troy. The name is supposed to have been given by a classically-minded clerk in the land office, as a consequence this place became known as New Troy and Troy Corners. Bedford was not the first landowner in Wyoming, but the first to apply for a Pennsylvania patent. Elsewhere in this history will be found a list of signs erected during the Sesqui-Centennial designating land taken up by the First Forty settlers who claimed land in Wyoming in 1769, under the Connecticut grant.

New Troy continued as the name for more than a quarter of a century. A post office was established here under that name in 1826 with William Swetland as postmaster. Thirteen years later the name was changed to Wyoming, probably because the town was rapidly adopting the name as its designation.

Early in the spring of 1885, the idea of incorporating Wyoming was taken up by a number of progressive citizens, a petition prepared and a sufficient number of signers secured to present the matter to court. Wyoming then had a population of about 1000. After being favorably reported by the grand jury, the court, on June 5, 1885, handed down a decree incorporating the borough. The area of the new borough, as fixed by court, embraced approximately eight and two-tenths square miles. In 1898, by the division of the borough into Wyoming and West Wyoming this was reduced to two and eight-tenths square miles, the remainder, five and four-tenths square miles, being given to the new borough of West Wyoming. Court appointed Samuel A. Lake to give notice of the first election; James B. Drake, judge of election; and Fisher Gay and John A. Hutchins, inspectors of elections. At the election held July 15 in the Butler Street school house, William Hancock was elected burgess, and John P. Smith, J. I. Shoemaker, John A. Hutchins, C. P. Knapp, John Sharpe and John Dougher, councilmen.

The first meeting of council was in the Butler Street school building, July 23, 1885, the oath of office being administered to the newly elected councilmen by the burgess, who had previously taken the oath of office before Justice of the Peace, H. C. Edwards. In the auditors' book, for 1885, now in possession of the school district, is inscribed the oaths of office of the new borough officers.

Council organized with the election of John P. Smith, as president of council, and J. I. Shoemaker as secretary, pro tem. The second meeting of council was held in the office of President Smith, when H. C. Edwards was elected secretary for the year. The rules of order and by-laws, as drawn up by Thomas P. Atherton, were adopted and are still in use. The regular meeting of council was set for the first Wednesday of each month, and has remained unchanged.

  1. Hall, Charles Herbert, History of Wyoming Borough, 1885-1935, LaBarre Printing Company, West Pittston, 1935

Nearby Towns: Ashley Boro • Avoca Boro • Duryea Boro • Edwardsville Boro • Exeter Boro • Forty Fort Boro • Hughestown Boro • Kingston Boro • Kingston Twp • Laflin Boro • Laurel Run Boro • Luzerne Boro • Old Forge Boro • Pittston City • Wilkes-Barre City • Wilkes-Barre Twp • Yatesville Boro •

Home | Whats New | Site Index | Contact
Privacy | Disclaimer

Copyright © 1997-2024, The Gombach Group